Outstanding October

I’m sad to see October come to a close as this was a darn good month for me. Let me count the reasons. I’ll keep it simple at five in no particular order because I’m sure you have stuff to do on this most awesome, best holiday of the year.

1. This pumpkin

This beautiful orange gourd-like squash thingie means a lot to me. Sure, it may be just a pumpkin to you, but to me it means that I’m able to exhale this year…at least a little bit. For the past two years, being unemployed, it was a struggle to put food on the table. There was no luxury of buying  pumpkins for decor or to scoop out seeds. We needed milk and bread and such things. “Next year,” we kept saying. Finally this year was our next year. I actually got teary eyed at the store when I put it in my cart. It’s the most beautiful pumpkin ever {which I just stabbed today and scraped out its innards} and I’m so thankful to be in a better place this October.

Apple tarts...

Death by Chocolate Oreo Cupcakes...


Pumpkin seeds from my special pumpkin...I like the baked strings of pumpkin left on there!!

2. Awesome treats

I’m always cooking/baking. But I really step it up in October. I love filling the house with delicious, warm aromas. And now that I finally get the concept of portion control, I realize I can make said delicious treats, still eat some in moderation and not deprive myself.

3. Another red dress

I have a thing for red dresses. I bought this one back in May at H&M on a trip home to Pittsburgh. It slightly fit then, except for my stomach. I’m constantly working on  my pooch. It’s definitely a problem area that I’m always aware of. I tried the dress on several times in the past couple of months, but it still never looked the way I wanted it to. And of course, since I’m my worst critic, it could fit better, but the other day it finally fit good enough to meet my approval and wear it out of the house. This was absolutely a happy outfit/weight/body day. Oh, and bonus–I hit a total of 70 lbs lost since my weightloss journey began in January 2010!


4. National Vegetarian Month

I’m going to say that this month, which was National Vegetarian Month, was 97% successful! That is a huge deal for me seeing as how I used to be a self-described crazy carnivore. I started preparing for this back at the end of August. I ate a lot of vegan foods at first, knowing that if I could like those foods, I could surely do vegetarianism. And it worked! My body felt great to my surprise, I wasn’t constantly having tummy aches and I just felt better overall. Our grocery bill even went down, too! I gave myself a 97% because although I abstained from pork, poultry and red meats, I did have a little seafood this month…probably about three times I indulged in shrimp, fish and scallops. Again, if you knew me in real life, you’d have been amazed at my determination! I actually don’t even miss the meat. So as Nat’l Veg Month is coming to a close, my new way of eating will not! At least not yet!

Love this.

5. Hard work paying off

Yes, I know I just wrote about it. And I probably talked about it ad nauseum. But I just can’t help it. Earning not one, but two, national personal training certifications not only in the same month, but the same week was just kick ass. Who does that? I did! Especially when the pressure was on and I had to. I had to earn the one to keep my job at Dick’s and the other to not have to pay a fee to take it again should I have failed it the first time. I set goals, studied and told myself to go for it. Again, setting your mind to something and accomplishing it is the best feeling and trumps all. This one alone seriously MADE my October.

How was your month? Any high-lights? And importantly…what’s your costume?!

6 Comments

  1. 70 lbs is amazing!

    • Cherie

      Thank you!! The goal was 90 so I’m almost there! 🙂

  2. Krissie J

    You completely rocked October! My highlight this month was pre-qualifying for a mortgage all on my own! I cannot believe we’re in the process of looking to buy a house!

    • Cherie

      Thanks Krissie! And congratulations to YOU–that is DEFINITELY a highlight!! Having your own space in your own house is awesome and I know you will be thrilled when it’s all done and you finally get settled. Have fun house hunting. I loved that part!!!

  3. Sarah

    Yay for October!!! 🙂

    • Cherie

      YAY indeed!! 😀

Leave a comment